Expert Working Group

The Expert Working Group (EWG) on the Review of Annexes was established to review Annexes I, III and IV, and related aspects of Annexes VIII and IX to the Basel Convention.

By its Decision BC-13/2, the Conference of the Parties established the EWG on the Review of Annexes with a mandate and terms of reference as set out in the Annex to that decision. The Conference of the Parties also decided that:

  • The EWG is open in nature, that it consists of 50 members nominated from Parties on the basis of equitable geographical representation of the five regional groups of the United Nations and that it is open to observers,
  • The number of members may be revised at the fourteenth meeting of the Conference of the Parties;
  • The EWG will operate under the guidance of the Open-ended Working Group and the authority of the Conference of the Parties;
  • Each regional group is requested to nominate, through its Bureau representative and by 15 July 2017, 10 experts with relevant expertise to serve as members of the expert working group;
  • Parties are invited to serve as lead countries for the review of Annex IV and related aspects of Annex IX and/or Annexes I and III.

By its Decision BC-14/16, the Conference of the Parties also decided that the regional groups that have not yet nominated 10 experts with relevant expertise to serve as members of the EWG should nominate the remaining experts by 31 July 2019 through their Bureau representatives. 

The terms of reference for the review of the Annexes provide, among other things, that:

  • The EWG may, on an ad hoc basis, decide to invite additional experts possessing specialized technical knowledge on an issue to be discussed at a meeting to participate in that meeting or parts thereof;
  • The EWG shall elect its co-chairs;
  • The EWG will work by electronic means and conference calls. Face to face meetings will be at the discretion of the co-chairs and be subject to the availability of resources;
  • The EWG may consult Parties and others as appropriate; and
  • The EWG shall organize its working modalities according to the rules of procedure of the Basel Convention.

Members of the EWG

African States:

Ms. Ameera AHMED GOUDA (Egypt)
Mr. Abderrazak MARZOUKI (Tunisia)
Ms. Sharon MOGOMOTSI (South Africa)
Mr. Roger MPAN (Congo, Republic of the)
Ms. Anna Maria GEROME (Tanzania, United Republic of)
Mr. John MUMBO (Kenya)
Ms. Perine NKOSI KASONDE (Zambia)
Mr. Jefferson NYANDIBO (Liberia)
Mr. Jean Claude SALAMA (Madagascar)

Asia and Pacific States:

Mr. Haitham Abdel Kareem ALADAILEH (Jordan)
Dr. Maher AL-JABARI (State of Palestine)
Dr. Sabine BARAKAT (Lebanon)
Mr. Qingyin DONG (China)
Ms. Minako KAGEYAMA (Japan)
Dr. Amit LOVE (India)
Ms. Roxana MALEKI (Iran, Islamic Republic of)

Eastern Europe States:

Ms. Maja COLOVIC-DAUL (Bosnia and Herzegovina)
Ms. Virginia GALATONOV (Republic of Moldova)
Ms. Magda GOSK (Poland) (co-chair)
Ms. Irma GURGULIANI (Georgia)
Ms. Aylin ISAKI MUHAREMI (North Macedonia)
Mr. Artak KHACHATRYAN (Armenia)
Ms. Katrin KAARE (Estonia)

Latin American and Caribbean States:

Mr. Ítalo Andrés FLAMENCO CÓRDOVA (El Salvador)
Ms. Andrea LOPEZ ARIAS (Colombia)
Mr. Eddy PAZMIÑO (Ecuador)
Ms. Irina TALAMONI (Argentina)
Mr. André FRANÇA (Brazil)

Western European and other States:

Ms. Lana BARBOUR (Australia)
Mr. Owen COX (New Zealand)
Ms. Julie CROTEAU (Canada)
Mr. Michael ERSNT (Germany)
Mr. Peter FRIJNS (Netherlands)
Mr. Brian HEFFERNAN (Ireland)
Mr. Martin LUTHER (Switzerland)
Ms. Yael OREN (Israel)
Mr. Roberto SCAZZOLA (European Union)
Ms. Hannah WOOLDRIDGE (United Kingdom)


Observers of the EWG:

European Union
United States of America

American Chemistry Council
Basel Action Network
Bureau of International Recycling
Confederation of European Waste-to-Energy
Circular Economy Research
Employers’ Organization in Cement Industry and other
  Mineral Products for Construction
Environmental Investigation Agency
The European Cement Association
European Chemical Industry Council
European Federation of Waste Management and
  Environmental Services
European Recycling Industries' Confederation
European Tyre & Rubber Manufacturers Association
European Union for the Responsible Incineration and
  Treatment of Special wastes
Global Alliance for Incinerator Alternatives
Green Cognition
Hazardous Waste Europe
Information Technology Industry Council
Institute of Scrap Recycling Industries
Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development
Silverado Policy Accelerator
Sims Recycling Solutions
Umicore Purchasing & Transportation
Wirtschaftsvereinigung Metalle