Expert Working Group

The Expert Working Group (EWG) on the Review of Annexes was established by the thirteenth meeting of the Conference of the Parties to review Annexes I, III, IV and related aspects of Annex IX to the Basel Convention.

By its Decision BC-13/2, the Conference of the Parties established the EWG on the Review of Annexes with a mandate and terms of reference as set out in the Annex to that decision. The Conference of the Parties also decided that:

  • The EWG is open in nature, that it consists of 50 members nominated from Parties on the basis of equitable geographical representation of the five regional groups of the United Nations and that it is open to observers,
  • The number of members may be revised at the fourteenth meeting of the Conference of the Parties;
  • The EWG will operate under the guidance of the Open-ended Working Group and the authority of the Conference of the Parties;
  • Each regional group is requested to nominate, through its Bureau representative and by 15 July 2017, 10 experts with relevant expertise to serve as members of the expert working group;
  • Parties are invited to serve as lead countries for the review of Annex IV and related aspects of Annex IX and/or Annexes I and III.

The terms of reference for the review of the Annexes provide, among other things, that:

  • The EWG may, on an ad hoc basis, decide to invite additional experts possessing specialized technical knowledge on an issue to be discussed at a meeting to participate in that meeting or parts thereof;
  • The EWG shall elect its co-chairs;
  • The EWG will work by electronic means and conference calls. Face to face meetings will be at the discretion of the co-chairs and be subject to the availability of resources;
  • The EWG may consult Parties and others as appropriate; and
  • The EWG shall organize its working modalities according to the rules of procedure of the Basel Convention.

Members of the EWG

African States:

Ms. Ghada Abdel Moneim EL-SAYED (Egypt)
Mr. Abderrazak MARZOUKI (Tunisia)
Ms. Sharon MOGOMOTSI (South Africa)
Mr. Roger MPAN (Congo, Republic of the)
Ms. Magdalena John MTENGA (Tanzania, United Republic of)
Mr. Jean Claude SALAMA (Madagascar)
Mr. Webby SIMWAYI (Zambia)
Mr. Henry O. WILLIAMS (Liberia)

Asia and Pacific States:

Mr. Ghulam ABBAS ASKARI (Afghanistan)
Dr. Maher AL-JABARI (State of Palestine)
Dr. Mohammed KHASHASHNEH (Jordan)
Ms. Roxana MALEKI (Iran, Islamic Republic of)
Mr. Mikihisa SHIRATORI (Japan)
Dr. Sonu SINGH (India)

Central and Eastern European States:

Ms. Maja DAUL COLOVIC (Bosnia and Herzegowina)
Ms. Magda GOSK (co-chair) (Poland)
Ms. Irma GURGULIANI (Georgia)
Ms. Aylin ISAKI MUHAREMI (Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia)
Mr. Artak KHACHATRYAN (Armenia)
Ms. Lina PATARCHANOVA (Bulgaria)
Ms. Mari-Liis UMMIK (Estonia)

Latin American and Caribbean States:

Ms. Alejandra ACOSTA (Argentina)
Ms. Andrea LOPEZ ARIAS (Colombia)
Mr. Joost MEIJER (co-chair) (Chile)
Mr Eddy PAZMIÑO (Ecuador)
Mr. Gian Franco RAGLIANTI BORBOLLA (Chile) 

Western European and other States:

Mr. Khokan BAGCHI (Australia)
Ms. Isabelle BAUDIN (Switzerland)
Mr. Owen COX (New Zealand)
Ms. Julie CROTEAU (Canada)
Ms. Ylva LINDEN (Sweden)
Dr. Anja MEUTSCH (Germany)
Ms. Yael OREN (Israel)
Ms. Janine VAN AALST (Netherlands)
Mr. Peter WESSMAN (European Union)

Observers of the EWG:

Ms. Irina TALAMONI (Argentina)
Mr. Juan Jose GALEANO (Argentina)
Mr. Richard ZENTELIS (Australia)
Mr. Andreas MOSER (Austria)
Ms. Leen CHANET (Belgium)
Mr. Maxime DUBÉ (Canada)
Ms. Annemette Carline SØGÅRD (Denmark)
Mr. Michael ERNST (Germany)
Mr. Georg Surkau (Germany)
Mr. Hiroki HAYATA (Japan)
Dr. Shunsuke KUDO (Japan)
Mr. Kazuo NAKATANI (Japan)
Mr. Osamu SAKAMOTO (Japan)
Mr. Peter FRIJNS (Netherlands)
Mr. Kees WIELENGA (Switzerland)
Ms. Liabeth YOHANNES (United States of America)
Ms. Leila DEVIA (BCRC-Argentina)
Dr. Quanyin TAN (BCRC-China)
Ms. Dana LAPESOVA (BCRC-Slovakia)
Ms. Hayley PALMER (Basel Action Network)
Mr. Jim PUCKETT (Basel Action Network)
Mr. Ross BARTLEY (Bureau of International Recycling)
Ms. Gina KILLIKELLY (Digitaleurope - Dell)
Mr. Klaus HIERONYMI (Digitaleurope - Hewlett-Packard Company)
Mr. Jean-Pierre TAVERNE (European Tyre & Rubber Manufacturers Association)
Mr. Alain HEIDELBERGER (Hazardous Waste Europe)
Mr. Richard GOSS (Information Technology Industry Council)
Mr. Paul HAGEN (Information Technology Industry Council)
Ms. Adina Renee ADLER (Institute of Scrap Recycling Industries) 
Ms. Patricia WHITING (Sims Recycling Solutions)