Membership of ENFORCE is open to:

  • Parties to the Basel Convention;
  • Entities with a specific mandate to deliver implementation and enforcement capacity-building activities that could assist parties to the Basel Convention in preventing and combating illegal traffic of hazardous wastes and other wastes under the Basel Convention;
  • Entities with a specific role or relevance in relation to the above-mentioned task.

Each Conference of the Parties of the Basel Convention elects the following members:

  • One representative from each of the five United Nations regions that are parties to the Convention.Three party representatives are elected for one term and two for two terms.
  • Four representatives from the Basel Convention regional and coordinating centres, based on equitable geographical representation.Two of the Basel Convention regional and coordinating centres will be elected for one term and two for two terms.

Members of ENFORCE

Current elected members of ENFORCE

List of members elected at COP 16 (BC - 16/18)

  • Mr. Assane Diop, Senegal (until closure of COP-18)
  • Mr. Norhisham Abdul Hamid, Malaysia – Asia-Pacific (until closure of COP-17)
  • Mr. Rene Rajasalu, Estonia for Eastern Europe (until closure of COP-18)
  • Ms. Lael Bertide-Josiah, Antigua and Barbuda – GRULAC (until closure of COP-17)
  • Mr. Brian Heffernan, Ireland - WEOG (until closure of COP-18)
  • Basel and Stockholm Convention Regional Centre in Senegal (BCRC-SCRC Senegal) (until closure of COP-18)
  • Basel Convention Regional Centre for Training and Technical Transfer in Tehran, Iran (BCRC-Iran) – Asia-Pacific (until closure of COP-17)
  • Basel Convention Regional Centre – Eastern Europe: to be completed in the intersessional period
  • Basel Convention Regional Centre for Training and Technology Transfer for the South American Region, Argentina (BCRC Argentina) – GRULAC (until closure of COP-17)


  • United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
COP 16 (2023-2024) elected ENFORCE members

Former elected members of ENFORCE

COP 11 (2013-2015) elected ENFORCE members             
COP 12 (2016-2017) elected ENFORCE members
COP 13 (2018-2019) elected ENFORCE members
COP 14 (2020-2021) elected ENFORCE members             
COP 15 (2022-2023) elected ENFORCE members

Additional members

In addition to the elected representatives from Parties and the Basel Convention Regional Centres, the following organizations and entities are members of ENFORCE:

  • Arendal centre of the Global Resource Information Database (GRID-Arendal)
  • Asian Network for Prevention of Illegal Transboundary Movement of Hazardous Wastes
  • BAN Toxics
  • Basel Action Network (BAN)
  • European Union Network for the Implementation and Enforcement of Environmental Law (IMPEL)
  • European Union Agency for Law Enforcement Cooperation (EUROPOL)
  • International Network for Environmental Compliance and Enforcement (INECE)
  • Latin America Network of Environmental Prosecutors
  • Regional Enforcement Network (REN)
  • United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP)
  • United Nations Institute for Training and Research (UNITAR)
  • United Nations on Drugs and Crime (UNODC)
  • World Customs Organization (WCO) 

The following organizations and entities are observers:

  • International Criminal Police Organization (INTERPOL)
  • Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe (OSCE)

Organizations wishing to become a member of ENFORCE, may contact the Secretariat  for additional information on how to apply for membership.